People

Faculty
Rolena Adorno
Sterling Professor of Spanish
Ph.D. Cornell University (1974)
rolena.adorno@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1154
Sybil Alexandrov
Senior Lector I of Spanish
M.A. Harvard University (1983)
sybil.alexandrov@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1152
Marta Almeida
Senior Lector I of Portuguese
Ph.D. University of Florida (1999)
marta.almeida@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7554
Maria Pilar Asensio-Manrique
Senior Lector I of Spanish
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles (2006)
pilar.asensio@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8067
R Howard Bloch
Department Chair, Sterling Professor of French
Ph.D. Stanford University (1970)
howard.bloch@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-4912
Ardis Butterfield
John M. Schiff Professor of English and Professor of French and of Music
ardis.butterfield@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-5764
Rudiger Campe
Alfred C. and Martha F. Mohr Professor of German Languages and Literatures; Director Graduate Studies for the Department of Spanish and Portuguese
rudiger.campe@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-0793
Mercedes Carreras
Senior Lector I of Spanish
Ph. D. Universidad de Valencia (1990)
mercedes.carreras@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7555
Ame M Cividanes
Director of Language Programs for Spanish and Portuguese; Senior Lector I of Spanish
Ph.D. Florida State University (2000)
ame.cividanes@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1159
Sebastián Díaz
Senior Lector I of Spanish
1. Doctor of Education, Universidad Simón Rodríguez, Venezuela, 1987. Master Degree in "Applied Linguistics to the teaching of Spanish as a Foreign Language", University of Jaen, Spain 2014; 2. Master Degree in "Teaching Spanish as Foreign Language", Int
sebastian.diaz@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8066
María de la Paz García
Senior Lector I of Spanish
Ph.D. University of Texas (2007)
maripaz.garcia@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1160
Lorena Garcia Barroso
Lector of Spanish
lorena.garciabarroso@yale.edu
Roberto González Echevarría
Sterling Professor of Hispanic and Comparative Literatures
Ph.D. Yale University (1970)
r.gonzalezechevarria@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1153
Anibal González-Pérez
Professor of Spanish
Ph.D. Yale University (1982)
anibal.gonzalez@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1149
Leslie Harkema
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Director of Undergraduate Studies for Spanish
Ph.D. Boston University (2012)
leslie.harkema@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1157
Marina Henriques Gomes De Andrade
Lector of Portuguese
marina.andrade@yale.edu
Kenneth David Jackson
Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies for Portuguese
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison (1973)
k.jackson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7608
Maria Jordán
Senior Lector I of Spanish; Lecturer of History
Ph.D. University of Minnesota (1997)
maria.jordan@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8065
Edward Kamens
Sumitomo Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures
Ph.D., Yale University, 1982
edward.kamens@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 432-2862
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
Website
Rosamaría León
Senior Lector I of Spanish
Ph.D. University of Connecticut (2007)
rosamaria.leon@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7764
Mary Miller
Sterling Professor in the History of Art; Senior Director of the Institute for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage
mary.miller@yale.edu
Phone: +1 432-2686
Irene Peirano Garrison
Associate Professor of Classics
irene.peirano@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-8536
Ian Quinn
Professor in the Music Department
ian.quinn@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 436-5123
Juliana Ramos-Ruano
Senior Lector I of Spanish
M.A. University of Northern Iowa (1988)
juliana.ramos-ruano@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1160
Lissette Reymundi
Senior Lector I of Spanish
M.A. Saint John’s University (2002)
lissette.reymundi@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-7764
María Lourdes Sabé-Colom
Senior Lector I of Spanish
D.M.L. Middlebury College (2007)
lourdes.sabe@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1152
Terry Seymour
Senior Lector I of Spanish
Ph.D. Columbia University (2007)
terry.seymour@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8064
Margherita Tortora
Senior Lector II of Spanish
M.A. The University of Texas at Austin (1985)
margherita.tortora@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8064
Claudia Valeggia
Professor of Anthropology
Ph.D. University of California, Davis
claudia.valeggia@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-3685
Noël Valis
Triennial Leave, Fall 2017, Professor
Ph.D. Bryn Mawr College (1975)
noel.valis@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1155
Sonia Valle
Senior Lector II of Spanish
Ph.D. Tulane University (2005)
sonia.valle@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-8065
María M. Vázquez
Lector of Spanish
Ph.D. Yale University (2012)
maria.m.vazquez@yale.edu
Graduate Students
Ian Althouse
7th Year (2011)
ian.althouse@yale.edu
Edwin Atkins
5th Year (2013)
edwin.atkins@yale.edu
Luis Bautista Boned
6th Year (2012)
luis.bautistaboned@yale.edu
Katherine Brown
5th Year (2013)
katherine.l.brown@yale.edu
Claire Climer
4th Year (2014)
claire.climer@yale.edu
Esteban Crespo Jaramillo
1st year (2017)
esteban.crespo@yale.edu
Sarah Glenski
4th Year (2014)
sarah.glenski@yale.edu
Janelle Gondar
7th Year (2011)
janelle.gondar@yale.edu
Yelsy Hernández Zamora
1st year (2017)
yelsy.hernandezzamora@yale.edu
Karina Lopez
1st year (2017)
karina.lopez@yale.edu
José Martínez Milantchi,
4th Year (2014)
jose.martinez@yale.edu
Bryce Maxey
5th Year (2013)
bryce.maxey@yale.edu
Veronica Mayer
7th Year (2011)
veronica.mayer@yale.edu
Maria Miranda
4th Year (2014)
maria.miranda@yale.edu
David Ortega
5th Year (2013)
david.ortega@yale.edu
Gustavo Reis da Silva Louro
1st year (2017)
gustavo.reisdasilvalouro@yale.edu
Hannah Rice
1st Year (2017)
hannah.rice@yale.edu
Juan Pablo Rodriguez-Argente
8th Year (2010)
juanpablo.rodriguez@yale.edu
Stephanie Rohner Stornaiuolo
7th Year (2011)
stephanie.rohner@yale.edu
Jose Sabin Lestayo
6th Year (2012)
jose.sabinlestayo@yale.edu
Akiko Uemura
1st year (2017)
akiko.uemura@yale.edu
Affiliate Faculty
Richard Burger
Charles J. MacCurdy Professor of Anthropology
richard.burger@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-6517
Oswaldo Chinchilla Mazariegos
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
oswaldo.chinchilla@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 436-5923
Marcela Echeverri Munoz
Assistant Professor of History
marcela.echeverri@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-6218
Carlos Eire
T. Lawrason Riggs Professor of History and Professor of Religious Studies
carlos.eire@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1357
Anne Eller
Assistant Professor of History
anne.eller@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1369
Moira Fradinger
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
moira.fradinger@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-8267
Paul Freedman
Chester D. Tripp Professor of History
paul.freedman@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1399
Seth Jacobowitz
Assistant Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures
seth.jacobowitz@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-9840
Albert Laguna
Assistant Professor of American Studies
albert.laguna@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-6333
Giuseppe Mazzotta
Sterling Professor of Italian Language and Literature
giuseppe.mazzotta@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-0598
Stephen Pitti
Professor of History and of American Studies; Director, Center for the Study of Race, Indigeneity and Transnational Migration
stephen.pitti@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-0560
David Quint
Sterling Professor of English and Professor of Comparative Literature
david.quint@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-2229
Dixa Ramírez
Assistant Professor of American Studies
dixa.ramirez@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-5207
Alicia Schmidt Camacho
Professor of American Studies
alicia.camacho@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-5116
Stuart B. Schwartz
George Burton Adams Professor of History
stuart.schwartz@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-1375
Susan Stokes
John S. Saden Professor of Political Science and Professor in the Institution for Social and Policy Studies
susan.stokes@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-6098
Staff
Chloe Germain
Senior Administrative Assistant
chloe.germain@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 432-1151
Virginia Gutierrez
Registrar
virginia.gutierrez@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5439
Doreen Neelans
Finance & Administrative, Manager
doreen.neelans@yale.edu
Phone: (203) 436-8862
55 Whitney Ave, Ste 630, New Haven, CT 06510-1300
Sara O'Bryan
Senior Administrative Assistant
sara.obryan@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1151