Mary Miller

Mary Miller's picture
Sterling Professor in the History of Art; Senior Director of the Institute for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage

A.B., Princeton University
Ph.D., Yale University

Mary Miller has held many administrative posts at Yale and served as Dean of Yale College 2008-2014.  She is currently Senior Director of the Institute for the Preservation of Cultural Heritage on Yale’s West Campus.  In that capacity, she advances the sustainable care, study, and use of the world’s cultural heritage through multidisciplinary research, innovation in technology and conservation practice, education, and advocacy. 

Professor Miller is a specialist of the art of the ancient New World and has been recognized for both her scholarly contributions and her curatorial expertise.  She curated The Courtly Art of the Ancient Maya at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., and the Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco in 2004 and co-curated landmark exhibition The Blood of Kings with Linda Schele at the Kimbell Art Museum in 1986. For both exhibition, she co-wrote the catalogues of the same title, the former with Simon Martin, and the latter with Linda Schele. Among her many books are The Murals of Bonampak, The Art of Mesoamerica (now in its 5th edition), Maya Art and Architecture (with Megan O’Neil), The Gods and Symbols of Ancient Mexico and the Maya (with Karl Taube), and A Pre-Columbian World (co-edited with Jeffrey Quilter). With Barbara Mundy, Miller edited Painting a Map of Mexico City,  a study of the rare indigenous map in the Beinecke Library (2012); and with  Claudia Brittenham, she wrote The Spectacle of the Late Maya Court: Reflections on the Murals of Bonampak (2013).

For her work on ancient Mexico and the Maya, Miller has won national recognition including a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Getty Grant. She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1994.She delivered the Fifty-ninth A W Mellon lectures at the National Gallery of Art in 2010 and  the Slade Lectures at Cambridge University in 2015.